top of page

The Coming of God

What does 'Cao Đài' mean?

Vision & Mission

A Brief History

Unifying Principles

Religious Laws & Constitution

Organization Structure




Liturgical Calendar

Bibliography & References


Caodai, divine eye, God







Caodai, Holy Body, religion, buddhism, taoism, christianity, caodaism, spirit, happiness, divine, compassion, peace

Organization Structure (Cont.)

Three councils govern the Holy See:

  • Popular Council / Hội Nhơn Sanh (會人生) - composed of Student Priests / Lễ-Sanh, Sub-dignitaries and representatives of adherents in the ratio of one delegate per 500 members. The Popular Council makes plans for the future.

  • Sacerdotal Council / Hội Thánh (會聖) - composed of Priests / Giáo-Hữu, Bishops / Giáo-Sư, Archbishops / Phối-Sư and Principal Archbishops / Chánh Phối-Sư. The Sacerdotal Council examines the plans made by the Popular Council.

  • High Council / Thương Hội (會聖) - composed of Cardinals / Đầu-Sư, Legislative Cardinals / Chưởng-Pháp and the Pope / Giáo-Tông. All plans made by the Popular Council and favoured by the Sacerdotal Council are submitted to High Council for approval.


If there is a disagreement, i.e. the three Councils are not at one, the plans must be submitted to God through a medium for a final decision.


Other Offices

Besides the above Bodies, there are:

  • The Teaching and Promulgation (Cơ quan Phổ Tế, 機關普濟) Body which was established in 1936 under the supervision of the Cửu Trùng Ðài/ Executive Body.

  • The Social Affairs/ Charitable Organisation (Cơ quan Phước Thiện, 福善 - 機關福善) which was founded in 1938 under the supervision of the Hiệp Thiên Ðài/ Legislative Body.


It is also noted that under the Secular Affairs of Hiệp Thiên Ðài, there is a Ban Thế Đạo / Lay Committee. The Lay Committee / Ban Thế Đạo is a body consisting of professional specialists among disciples. They serve the Religion and the society with their professional ability. It is their duty to support the Religion as effectively as possible within their capacity. The four titles for dignitaries of Ban Thế Đạo are: Hiền Tài (Virtuous and talented disciples, 賢才), Quốc Sĩ (Eminent scholars of a country, 國士), Đại Phu and Phu Tử (夫子, Masters/ Teachers).


Continue Next Page          

bottom of page