top of page

The Coming of God

What does 'Cao Đài' mean?

Vision & Mission

A Brief History

Unifying Principles

Religious Laws & Constitution

Organization Structure




Liturgical Calendar

Bibliography & References


Caodai, divine eye, God







Organization Structure (Cont.)

Central Administration

At the Holy See, the three Cardinals / Đầu-Sư of the Executive Body control the administration of the Religion. They are assisted by three Principal Archbishops / Chánh-Phối-Sư. There are nine separate religious ministries / Cửu Viện in the Executive Body. Each religious ministry has its own personnel, operational system, and offices in the administrative building. Each of the three Principal Archbishops / Chánh-Phối-Sư directs three of these religious ministries:

  • The Principal Archbishop of the Buddhist Branch / Phái Thái is chief of the Financial/ Hộ Viện, Supply / Lương Viện and Public Works / Công Viện Ministries.

  • The Principal Archbishop of the Taoist Branch / Phái Thượng is chief of the Education / Học Viện, Health / Y Viện and Agriculture / Nông Viện Ministries.

  • The Principal Archbishop of the Confucian Branch / Phái Ngọc is chief of Justice / Hoà  Viện, Interior / Lại  Viện and Rites / Lễ  Viện Ministries


Provincial Administration

The administrative network which functions throughout Vietnam consists of:

  • The Religious Region (Trấn Đạo) comprising of several provinces, headed by a Bishop / Giáo-Sư who is called the Regional Religious Chief / Khâm Trấn Đạo.

  • The Religious Province (Châu Đạo) comprising of several districts/ delegations, headed by a Priest who is called Provincial Religious Chief / Khâm Châu Đạo.

  • The Religious District/ Delegation comprising of several villages, headed by a Student Priest who is called the Religious Chief of Delegation / Đầu Tộc Đạo (Đầu Phận Đạo).

  • The Religious Village/ Parish (Hương Đạo) headed by a Sub-dignitary / Chánh-Trị-Sự who is called Village Religious Chief / Đầu Hương Đạo. He is assisted by one (or more) Phó-Trị-Sự (Deputy Chief for Administration of a religious village) representing the Executive Body and one (or more) Thông-Sự representing the Legislative Body. The Religious Village is made up of Religious Hamlets / Ấp Đạo.

As mentioned above, the original organisation and hierarchical structure of Caodaism involved three branches: the Bát Quái Ðài (Spiritual), Hiệp Thiên Ðài (Legislative), and Cửu Trùng Ðài (Executive). "The dignitaries of the Cửu Trùng Ðài and of the Hiệp Thiên Ðài merely form organisations to assist the Supreme Being and the Divine Beings to found the New Religion to guide Humanity in the True Way of God".


End of Organization Structure

Next Page

bottom of page